Knowledgebase
How to add a new user to PracticeStudio.
Posted by Johnathan Iler on 03 July 2013 11:59 AM

In this Knowledgebase article, we will show you how to add a new user to the Practice Studio system.

 

Step 1: Log in to PracticeStudio

Step 2: Select Setup > Security Editor from the PS menu button

 

Step 3: Click on the “Add User” button at the top of the window or right-click and select “New User…” from the context menu that pops up.

 

Step 4: On the “User Information” tab, enter the user’s first name, middle name or initial, and last name; user name; and password (the password will be encrypted and will thus have to be entered twice to confirm). Check the checkbox next to any of the setting at the bottom of the form that you want to take effect.

 

Step 5: On the “Roles” tab, select the checkbox next to each role you want to assign to the user. (The roles that appear on this tab include 8 pre-configured roles as well as any new roles that have been created by security administrators.)

*Note: The user will automatically inherit all permissions assigned to the selected roles. If you don’t need to override any of those permissions, you’re finished and can skip to step 9.

 

Step 6: If you want to override any of the permissions inherited from the user’s roles, you must do so manually. To do so, click on the “Permissions” tab and check the checkbox next to the permission group or individual permission you would like to assign manually.

 

Step 7: Select whether you’d like the permission (group) to be granted, denied, or read-only in the Default Action dropdown.

 

Step 8: If you want to set any restrictions on the default action you just selected – say, for instance, that you want the user to have full access at all times except for Friday afternoon, at which time you want the user’s access to be read-only – select the restriction set corresponding to that time frame and select which workstation(s) to which that restriction set will apply.

*Note: If the restriction set you want to select is not yet in the system, you will need to close the User Properties dialog (click “Cancel” in the bottom right corner) and add that restriction set before continuing.

 

Step 9: Click on “Save” at the bottom right corner of the window.

(0 vote(s))
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful

Comments (0)
Help Desk Software by Kayako Fusion